David Oyelowo Apple Series ‘Government Cheese’ Rounds Out Main Cast


The upcoming Apple TV+ series “Government Cheese” has filled out its main cast with four new additions, Variety has learned exclusively.

Jahi Winston (“We Have a Ghost, “Charm City Kings”), Evan Alexander Ellison (“She Came to Me,” “Devil in Ohio”), Jeremy Bobb (“The Knick,” “Russian Doll”), and Louis Cancelmi (“Killers of the Flower Moon,” “Billions”) have all joined the show. They will appear alongside previously announced series lead David Oyelowo as well as cast members Simone Missick, Bokeem Woodbine, Sunita Mani, and Adam Beach.

Based on the short film of the same name by Paul Hunter, “Government Cheese” follows Hampton Chambers (Oyelowo), described as “a man recently released from prison who struggles to keep his criminal past at bay and win back his family, all while processing moments of divine intervention that seem to happen with increasing frequency.”

Winston is repped by WME and Jackoway Austen Tyerman. Ellison is repped by Amplified for management and talent agency Pacific Artists Management. Bobb is repped by Gersh, and Suskin/Karshan Management. Cancelmi is repped by Gersh and Red Letter Entertainment.

Hunter and Ayesha Carr serve as writers, executive producers, and co-showrunners on “Government Cheese.” Hunter also directs. Oyelowo executive producers under his Yoruba Saxon banner. Charles D. King and Ahmadou Seck will executive produce the series for MACRO Television Studios along with Jelani Johnson and Marta Fernandez. Ali Brown will serve as co-executive producer alongside Hunter through Ventureland. Apple Studios and MACRO serve as co-studios.

(Pictured, from left to right: Jahi Winston, Evan Alexander Ellison, Jeremy Bobb, Louis Cancelmi)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *